Fantastic Fest 2012

Fantastic Fest Awards: Demons, children playing war and American haunted houses

Fantastic Fest Awards: Demons, children playing war and American haunted houses

Here Comes the Devil
Here Comes the Devil
I Declare War movie
I Declare War star Gage Munroe I Declare War/Facebook
Charles de Lauzirika directing Crave
Vanishing Waves
Vanishing Waves
The American Scream
Souza home,The American Scream
Here Comes the Devil
I Declare War movie
Vanishing Waves
The American Scream

The 2012 Fantastic Fest held its award ceremony Monday night, marking the horror and sci-fi festival's halfway point. Copious amounts of drinks were drunk, the coveted awards were given out, and sincerity and gratitude flowed like rivers of blue-black blood down the aisles.

Below are five highlights that we absolutely loved, followed by the full list of winners:

Here Comes the Devil

Winner: Best Picture (Horror), Best Screenplay (Horror), Best Director (Horror), Best Actress (Horror), Best Actor (Horror)

Here Comes the Devil completely obliterated the horror category, and I reckon, by a long shot. The two leads, Francisco Barreiro and Laura Caro provide commanding performances fed from the spooky story crafted and directed by Adrián García Bogliano. Devil creeps up on you slowly, and then suddenly screams in your face until you’re left breathless at the end credits.

I Declare War

Winner: Audience Award (Overall)

I Declare War explores the depravity of warfare and the depths to which it brings mankind. A film that spends as much time portraying the savage violence of war as it does probing the psyche of each character; War makes for a thoroughly enjoyable war picture.  Oh, and all of the characters are children. Fighting a pretend war, using make believe weapons. It's fantastic.


Winner: Best Director (AMD New Wave)

Charles de Lauzirika busted his chops creating special features for a range of DVDs –Blade Runner, Once Upon a Time in Mexico and (500) Days of Summer amongst them. His first full-length feature, Crave, seems to reflect that in the most positive way. Grim cityscapes, brutal revenge fantasies, and a smart sense of humor, that all add up to a viciously entertaining experience. Let’s hope de Lauzirika takes some time off DVDs to focus on his own features.

Vanishing Waves

Winner: Best Picture (Fantastic), Best Director (Fantastic), Best Screenplay (Fantastic), Best Actress (Fantastic)

A visually impressive film, Vanishing Waves tells the story of an augmented reality romance embedded in the mind. Depicting a not so distant future, Waves features artistic direction from Kristina Buozyte, a complex and rich narrative from Bruno Samper, along with some truly empathetic acting. A picture that gradually swims through the minds of its two leads, Jurga Jutaite and Marius Jampolskis, Vanishing Waves takes its time unraveling its intricate and beautiful plot.

The American Scream

Winner: Best Documentary

Best Worst Movie director Michael Stephenson found his new muse in the form of three middle-aged Fairhaven, Mass. "house haunters" who sacrifice their lives throughout the year to build the best backyard Halloween haunted houses for their neighborhood. Through a series of revealing interviews, The American Scream offers a personalized look at the universal appeal of Halloween on individuals, families and communities.


The full list of Monday's Fantastic Fest winners are below:


I Declare War (dir. Robert Wilson & Jason Lapeyre)



Best Picture: Flicker (dir. Patrik Eklund)


Best Director: Charles de Lauzirika (Crave) 


Best Screenplay: Max Porcelijn (Plan C)


Best Actor: Michael Eklund (Errors of the Human Body)


Best Actress: Alina Levshin (Combat Girls)



Best Picture: Vanishing Waves (dir. Kristina Buozyte)


Best Director: Kristina Buozyte (Vanishing Waves)


Best Screenplay: Bruno Samper, Kristina Buozyte (Vanishing Waves)


Best Actor: Rene Bitorajac (Vegetarian Cannibal)


Best Actress: Jurga Jutaite (Vanishing Waves)



Best Picture: Here Comes the Devil (dir. Adrián García Bogliano)


Best Screenplay: Adrián García Bogliano (Here Comes the Devil)


Best Director: Adrián García Bogliano (Here Comes the Devil)

Special mention: Hajime Ohata (Henge)


Best Actor: Francisco Barreiro (Here Comes the Devil)


Best Actress: Laura Caro (Here Comes the Devil)

Special Mention: Katherine Isabel (American Mary)



Best Picture: New Kids Nitro (dir. Steffen Haars & Flip Van der Kuil)


Best Director: Dario Russo (Danger 5)


Best Screenplay: John Mitchell (The History of Future Folk)


Best Actor: Chapman To (Vulgaria)


Best Actress: Rina Takeda (Dead Sushi)



Best Picture: The American Scream (dir. Michael Stephenson)


Best Director: Rodney Ascher (Room 237) 



Winner: At The Formal (Andrew Kavanagh, Australia)

Runner-up: The Sleepover (Chris Cullari, USA)



Winner: Record/Play (Jesse Atlas, USA)

Runner-up: Love (Kaveh Nabatian, Canada)



Winner: Bendito Machine IV - (Jossie Malis, Spain)

Runner-up: Tram - (Michaela Pavlátová, Czech Republic)