In the spotlight

Austin Under 40 unveils 2013 nominees, including Kendra Scott, Jesse Herman, Joah Spearman

Austin Under 40 unveils 2013 nominees, including Kendra Scott, Jesse Herman, Joah Spearman

Austin Photo Set: arden_Austin under 40_jan 2013
Left to right top: Lauren Smith Ford, Shawn Cirkiel and Joah Spearman. Left to right bottom: Kendra Scott, James Moody and Jesse Herman.

This year marks the 15th annual Austin Under 40 Awards, an event founded in 1997 by the Young Men's Business League and Young Women's Alliance.

Each spring, Austin Under 40 celebrates young men and women leaders in Austin who not only excel in their professional fields, but also make considerable contributions to their communities. On Tuesday, the awards' 2013 finalists were announced, a list that runs the gamut from designers and restaurateurs to engineers and PR professionals.

Nominees are selected for 12 categories; the winners of each category will be announced at the Austin Under 40 Awards, taking place February 22.

The 2013 Austin Under 40 nominees are as follows:

Arts and Entertainment: Shawn Cirkiel, Heather Ladage, James Moody, Lauren Smith Ford, Joah Spearman

Business and Entrepreneurship: Allison Davidson, Jesse Herman, Kendra Scott, Ellis Winstanley, Yuen Yung

Community Service: Amber Fogarty, Chelsea McCullough, Michael Nellis, Hannah Nokes, Leo Ramirez

Engineering, Architecture and Design: Greg Esparza, Matt Fajkus, Keri Juarez, Will Schnier, Daniel Woodroffe

Financial Services and Insurance: Christopher Bauer, Nicole Conley-Abram, Nina Godiwalla, Eric Hehman, Greg Van Wyk

Government and Public Affairs: AJ Bingham, Matt Lamon, Rudolph Metayer, JR Ruiz, Larry Schooler

Legal: Michelle Alcala, Jessica Blacklock, David Courreges, Ramey Ko, Samer Zabaneh

Marketing, PR and Advertising: Melissa Anthony Sinn, Stacy Armijo, Jenna Oltersdorf, Anne Lasseigne Tiedt, Richard Woehl

Medicine and Healthcare: Andrea Campaigne, Kate Henderson, Subhakar Mutyala, Stephen Pont, Carlos Zaffirini Jr.

Real Estate: Jude Galligan, John Hay, Corby Jastrow, Patrick Rose, Rob Shands

Technology and Sciences: Joshua Alexander, John King, Chad Neely, Breca Tracy, Dustin Wells

Youth and Education: Mike Braeuer, Kyle Cox, Matteson Ellis, Glen Mayes, Nikki Trevino


The 15th annual Austin Under 40 Awards will be held at the Austin Music Hall on February 22. The event features a plated dinner, silent auction and the highly-anticipated awards program.