Austin Symphony Orchestra presents Masterworks VIII: Ingrid Fliter

Ingrid Fliter
Ingrid Fliter Photo courtesy of CM Artist New York

The evening will begin with an ode to summer with Alfvén’s Midsommarvaka (Midsummer Vigil). Some of the tunes Alfvén has quoted or created in various works have entered the realm of popular music, both in his native home of Sweden and abroad. None is quite so well known as the first of his three Swedish Rhapsodies, Midsommarvaka.

Immediately following, the ASO will welcome to the stage Argentinian pianist Ingrid Fliter to perform Ravel’s Concerto in G Major. Ravel worked for more than two years on this concerto that turned out to be his last orchestral work, which was as he put, “written in the spirit of Mozart and Saint-Saëns.”

Following intermission the Masterworks Series will conclude with Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 in A Minor.

Event Details


6.4.16 | 8:00 pm
6.3.16 | 8:00 pm


The Long Center for the Performing Arts
701 W. Riverside Dr.
Austin, TX 78704


Ticket Info