Austin Civic Orchestra presents America, the Beautiful

All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.
Austin Civic Orchestra
Photo courtesy of Austin Civic Orchestra

The Austin Civic Orchestra will celebrate the cultural diversity of the United States in its concert “America, the Beautiful.” Guest soloist Jessica Mathaes will perform music by Samuel Barber. Mathaes, a self-proclaimed fan and supporter of the Austin Civic Orchestra, will be on hand after the performance to meet attendees.

Led by Austin Civic Orchestra Music Director Lois Ferrari and Assistant Conductor Gus Sterneman, the orchestra will perform Porgy and Bess, Selection for Orchestra by George Gershwin; Variations on “America” by Charles Ives; Overture to “West Side Story” by Leonard Bernstein; Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Allegro moderato (Movement I) by Samuel Barber, featuring Jessica Mathaes on violin; Afro-American Symphony by William Grant Still.

Event Details



AISD Performing Arts Center
1500 Barbara Jordan Blvd.
Austin, TX 78723


Ticket Info