Austin Charity Guide
Ambitious Austinites

Austin Under 40 reveals the impressive nominees for 2020 awards

Austin Under 40 reveals the impressive nominees for 2020 awards

Austin Under 40
Jesse Stowell is nominated in the Journalism, Marketing, and Public Relations category. Courtesy photo
Austin Under 40
Natalie Crawford, MD, is nominated in the Medicine and Healthcare category. Courtesy photo
Austin Under 40 Awards
Aurora Martinez is nominated in the Civics, Government, and Public Affairs category. Courtesy photo
Austin Under 40
Rubén Cantú is nominated in the Youth and Education category. Courtesy photo
Austin Under 40
Austin Under 40
Austin Under 40 Awards
Austin Under 40

For 22 years, Austin Under 40 has celebrated the city's young, innovative, and inspirational leaders. And this year is no different, with 80 outstanding locals who were revealed in March. 

This year's finalists, chosen from the largest pool of nominees AU40 has ever received, were selected by a panel of 140 judges after five rounds of consideration. They span 16 categories and include a wide range of professions, from associate county judge to public relations star. 

"AU40 spans 16 industry categories and is filled with local heroes who have rallied together to support our Austin community during COVID-19," says 2020 event co-chair Derek Steffen. "As a co-chair of this event, I’ve had the pleasure to witness and converse with individuals who are actively demonstrating the importance of professionalism, servitude, and community."

Winners in each category will be revealed at the annual black-tie gala. Originally slated for May 16, the program was rescheduled due to the COVID-19 crisis, but has been rescheduled for later this year

Proceeds from the evening support YWAF and the Austin Sunshine Camps, the philanthropic missions of the Young Women’s Alliance (YWA) and Young Men’s Business League (YMBL), who partner on the annual event.

The 2020 finalists for Austin Under 40 are:

Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Gerardo Gandy, David Goujon, Nhat Ho, Megan Lasch, and Ashley Wainscott

Arts and Entertainment
Anna Gallagher-Ross, Cassie Shankman, Chet Garner, Danielle Benson, and Kristyn Ciani

Civics, Government, and Public Affairs
Denise Hernandez, Aurora Martinez Jones, Bianca Garcia, Julie Fisher, and Bino Cadenas

Culinary Arts, Events, and Hospitality
John Antonelli, Turgay Yuksel, Heather Emerson, Lindsey Sokol, and Gabe Erales

Energy, Mobility, and Transportation
Dana Harmon, Sam Sargent, Mandy McClendon, Leslie Pollack, and Marissa Monroy

Financial and Insurance Services
Malini Rajput, Vanessa McElwrath, Rina VonFrisch, Chris Ragland, and Chris Palmisano

Innovation and Start-up
TiWanna Kenney, Janice Omadeke, Ben Rubenstein, Nathan Ryan, and Brooke Waupsh

Journalism, Marketing, and Public Relations
Hema Mullur, Levente McCrary, Brianna McKinney, Rusty Shelton, and Jesse Stowell

Megan G. Holloway, Lauren Schoenbaum, Rick Flores, Caitlin Haney Johnston, and Noah Galton

Medicine and Healthcare
Rebekkah Schear, Lucas G. Hill, Natalie Crawford, Jason Bradley Terrell, and Terrance Hines

Mentor of the Year
Stuart Vick Smith, Emily LeBlanc, James Butler, Paula Bookidis, and Holly Christine Hayes

Nonprofit Service
Shaleiah Fox, Alex Villa, Chas Moore, Mimi Marziani, and Lindsey Linder

Real Estate
John Berkowitz, Lezlie Tram Le, Paul Smith, Kristen Williams, and Schuyler Williamson

Sports, Wellness, and Fitness
April Owen, Gloria Chan, Emilia Edmonson, CJ Finley, Melody Afkami

Estevan Aviles, Jessica Tremblay, John Gunter, Jr., Ryan Collins, and Sherrie Nguyen

Youth and Education
Rubén Cantú, Dr. Christopher Coy, Jon Bailey, Sharon Vigil, and Dr. Jennifer Garcia-Edwardsen