Longhorn Legends

Longhorn Network launches bracket challenge to determine greatest athlete in UT history

Help the Longhorn Network determine the greatest athlete in UT history

Despite the lack of Longhorns drafted into the NFL this year, fans can still celebrate the past stars of the 40 Acres. To help honor the long legacy of the University of Texas' athletic prowess, the Longhorn Network is asking you to determine who is the greatest athlete in the school's history.

On Monday night, the Longhorn Network revealed a seeded tournament bracket of 64 athletes from all eras and all sports. Fans are asked to vote online to choose who progresses in each round. (Similar to the NCAA basketball tournament.)

Each night during the tournament at 10 pm on the Longhorn Network, panelists will discuss the legacy of the athletes and debate who should win the match-up. You can expect athletes to make special appearances on these broadcasts, too.

On Tuesday night's episode of Longhorn Extra at 9 pm, the winners of the "Bevo Region" will be announced, and voting for the "Big Bertha" region will open.

Voting for the "Tower Region" will open on Wednesday night, followed by the "Smokey Region" on Thursday. The second round of voting will begin on Friday. At the bracket's completion, the "Longhorn Legend" will be crowned on June 3. 

So who are the hotshot men and women facing off in this first-ever challenge? Running back-turned-LHN analyst Ricky Williams is the No. 1 seed in the "Bevo Region," a trend that continues across the rest of the tournament's match-ups. No. 1 seeds in the remaining three regions are Earl Campbell, Vince Young and Bobby Layne. 

The first bracket challenge offers a healthy mix of football legends, Olympic athletes and two golfers. Although a certain Heisman winner is a likely favorite, athletes include:

Ricky Williams
Kevin Curren
Jerry Gray
Destinee Hooker
Ernie Koy, Sr.
Roy Williams
Jill Sterkel
Casey Hampton
Greg Swindell
Brooks Kieschnick
Ben Crenshaw
Jordan Spieth
Derrick Johnson
Brian Orakpo
T.J. Ford
Roosevelt Leaks

So start voting — and start getting into arguments with your friends to determine who’s the best.

Longhorn Network greatest athlete bracket
The LHN bracket challenge launches today. Photo courtesy of The Longhorn Network
Vince Young scoring winning touchdown in 2006 National Championship Game
Vince Young has a No. 1 seed. Photo courtesy of 973espn.com
Jordan Spieth wins the John Deere Classic
Longhorn golfer Jordan Spieth became a household name after an impressive performance during the 2014 Masters Tournament. John Deere Classic/Facebook
Longhorn Network greatest athlete bracket
Vince Young scoring winning touchdown in 2006 National Championship Game
Jordan Spieth wins the John Deere Classic