Stars of Texas

Tommy Lee Jones, Luke Wilson and more to be honored at Texas Film Awards

Tommy Lee Jones, Luke Wilson to be honored at Texas Film Awards

Tommy Lee Jones_actor_head shot_Austin Film Society_Texas Film Awards 2015
San Saba native Tommy Lee Jones has been named as an honoree in the 2015 Texas Film Awards. Courtesy of Austin Film Society

A fresh batch of Texans (and one honorary statesman) will be honored at this year's Texas Film Awards. Held at Austin Studios in March, this marks the 15th anniversary for the prestigious event.

On Wednesday, the Austin Film Society announced this year's honorees, which include Tommy Lee Jones, Luke Wilson, Bonnie Curtis and "Honorary Texan" Guillermo del Toro. In addition, there will also be a posthumous induction of the influential screenwriter, journalist and actor, L.M. Kit Carson, who passed away last year at the age of 73.

The annual Texas Film Awards ceremony honors natives that have left their mark on Hollywood in everything from directing and producing to acting and writing. Despite his longstanding acting career, this is the first time that Jones has been honored since the awards' inception in 2001. In addition to already impressive resume, Jones' much lauded 2014 film The Homesman, which he directed and starred in, has recently garnered a series of impressive accolades and awards.

Fellow actor Wilson — who has emceed the ceremony and even presented an award to his brother Owen — will finally receive his own individual honor. (He has also accepted an award on behalf of the movie Rushmore.) Curtis, whose film credits include Saving Private RyanMinority Report and The Lost World: Jurassic Park, will likewise be recognized for her work as a producer.

Although accomplished screenwriter and director del Toro is originally from Mexico, he temporarily resided in Austin while working on his 2001 movie The Devil's Backbone and has maintained a relationship with the state and our film scene ever since. Because of this (or perhaps because he became a vegetarian for four years after watching the original The Texas Chainsaw Massacre), del Toro will be recognized as an Honorary Texan.

Past honorees include Matthew McConaughey, Willie Nelson, Woody Harrelson, Robert Rodriguez, Richard Linklater and fellow Honorary Texan Quentin Tarantino, among others.

This year's Texas Film Awards will take place on March 12. Tickets to the awards ceremony start at $500, however admission to the official after party only costs $50.